Just another WordPress.com site

This is going to be just a quick post; but a powerful one I believe.  I hope it helps you as much as it helps me.

In one of her books, Madeline L’Engle tells of her experience after being in a car accident.  She was away from home and in the hospital for months before she could go home.

Her injuries were so serious she could not do anything but lie there.  Her pain was so great she said she could not even begin to pray.  Which is why we need others praying for us in times of crisis.  And other times too of course.

What stuck with me from her story is what she did end up praying.  All she said over and over was, “Lord Jesus Christ have mercy on me.  Lord Jesus Christ have mercy on me.  Lord Jesus Christ have mercy on me.”  

Sometimes we are in too much pain to pray like we normally would.  And that’s okay.  God knows and the number of words we use is not the measuring stick for a good prayer anyway.  It is our hearts that matter.

I memorized this little phrase which is obviously not difficult to do.  I used it even today and it made me think I needed to share it with you.

“Lord Jesus Christ have mercy on me”  A-men.

Leave a Reply

