Just another WordPress.com site

“Now as Jesus was going up to Jerusalem, he took the twelve disciples aside and said to them, 18 “We are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be betrayed to the chief priests and the teachers of the law. They will condemn him to death 19 and will turn him over to the Gentiles to be mocked and flogged and crucified. On the third day he will be raised to life!” Mk 20:17-19

It was surprising to me as I read this scripture today that I had never thought about how much detail Jesus gave His disciples about his pending death.  You’ll notice in Mark 18 and 19 He told them where they were going, who would be involved and what was going to happen to Him.

My first thought was, “I wish God would give me these kinds of details about what is going to happen in my life.” Wouldn’t it be nice if Jesus told us the amount of detail he gave to the disciples?

I make an assumption that having details about my future will make a difference in how I deal with it.  Also that it will impact how I will feel about the circumstances.

As I look deeper into this scripture and others that involve Jesus and His disciples; I realize that having these details really didn’t make a big difference with how the disciples reacted.  Jesus told them what was about to happen and they still did not handle it well.  Ultimately they all abandoned Him.

So it makes me wonder; would it really make a difference if I knew more?  From the disciples experience, not that much I don’t  think.

The more I considered this the more I started thinking I guess He did give us a lot of information.  All the information we need to know is in His Word.  He didn’t give us detail in terms of what we would suffer specifically.

He told us we would have trouble; there would be hardship and suffering.  He gave us His Word so we would know these things and not be surprised when we faced difficulty.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds…(James 2:1)

In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials (1 Peter 1:6).

When you have a child with an eating disorder you may suffer quietly.  Others don’t know about how painful and frightening it is to watch your daughter try to starve herself.

Even though you couldn’t imagine this would ever happen to you; God knew.  No amount of information would have made this hurt any less or help you deal with it better.  It just is and you are dealing with it the best you can one day at a time.

Jesus gave the disciples what they needed to know; and He gives us what we need to know as well.  We must trust Him that we know enough to get through this and He will help us with what we don’t yet know.

 

Leave a Reply

