Just another WordPress.com site

When they went across the lake, the disciples forgot to take bread. 6 “Be careful,” Jesus said to them. “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” 7 They discussed this among themselves and said, “It is because we didn’t bring any bread.” 8 Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked, “You of little faith, why are you talking among yourselves about having no bread? 9 Do you still not understand? Don’t you remember the five loaves for the five thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? 10 Or the seven loaves for the four thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? 11 How is it you don’t understand that I was not talking to you about bread? But be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” 12 Then they understood that he was not telling them to guard against the yeast used in bread, but against the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.

I wonder how often Jesus heard these little side discussions his disciples had with one another?  I wonder how often they got it wrong when the disciples, “discussed this among themselves”?

I know I do this.  I have a question or thought about something and instead of going first to the One who has all the answers, I call a friend or talk with my husband first.

I wonder if God, like Jesus in this scripture, is quietly listening and thinking, “Lynn, why don’t you ask Me?  I already have the answer.”  On and on I go conversing, stewing, evaluating and then if that doesn’t work I might go to God.

This is not something I like to admit but at times it is true.  Not always, but probably more often than I care to think about.

I don’t know this for sure, but I think Jesus wanted his disciples to ask him what he meant when they didn’t understand something he said.  Jesus knew how little they understood, how out of their element they were, how radically different his teaching was from everything else they had ever been taught.

I can think of multiple times in scripture when the disciples asked Jesus to clarify or interpret for them something he said.  After all they were his disciples; the purpose of their relationship with Him was to learn so they could continue what He began after He was gone.

My guess is Jesus had a similar policy that many teachers have and that is, “there is no dumb question.”  Ask anything.

So all of this to say, your child is ill and you are scared and don’t always know what to do.  My encouragement to you and to me is to go to Jesus first, not last with your questions, thoughts and emotions.

Yes, God gives us qualified people from whom to seek counsel and we should utilize them at whatever level it is necessary.  Scripture refers to seeking the counsel of the wise.

But I think in His mind it is a given that we always go to Him first.  He is our first line of defense, not our last.  Then once we have done that; we are more likely to hear or sense what direction to go and whose counsel to seek.

What do you need to take to God right now that you have been holding onto or are seeking the counsel of humans first?

Make God your first line of defense.  He will not let you down.  He will not let me down.  All we have to do is ask.

“If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” (James 1:5)

Leave a Reply

