Just another WordPress.com site

Spiritual Amnesia

When they went across the lake, the disciples forgot to take bread. 6 “Be careful,” Jesus said to them. “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” 7 They discussed this among themselves and said, “It is because we didn’t bring any bread.” 8 Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked, “You of little faith, why are you talking among yourselves about having no bread? 9 Do you still not understand? Don’t you remember the five loaves for the five thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? 10 Or the seven loaves for the four thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? 11 How is it you don’t understand that I was not talking to you about bread? But be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” 12 Then they understood that he was not telling them to guard against the yeast used in bread, but against the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.

At times the disciples seem to be so dense to us.  Here Jesus had done all these miracles including the feeding of the five thousand and the four thousand; and they were still worried about bread!

I would like to think that if I were one of the disciples I would have been more astute.  But most likely I wouldn’t have been.  Just like I would like to think I would have made a better decision than Eve did in the garden.  Again, probably I wouldn’t have.

Once again, Jesus is pointing out the disciples’ lack of faith.  I wonder how often He would point out my lack of faith and remind me of all the ways He has been faithful to me.  Probably more times than I could count.

Just like the disciples, I forget what God has done for me.  I am faced with an obstacle and almost immediately have spiritual amnesia.

Does that ever happen to you?  This happens to all of us because we are human and fallible.  When your child develops anorexia it is difficult to hang onto faith.  The immediate question is, “Why did this happen to us?”

When your child is ill, it is more difficult to remember God’s faithfulness.  You are frightened and confused.

But God wants us to remember all the times He has been faithful and has provided for us.  That’s why Jesus reminds the disciples of the miracles because they had forgotten or weren’t able to transfer that information from one experience to another.

Even as I write this God is quietly reminding me of all He has done for me.  My concerns today are in His hands and He has always been faithful.

What events are God whispering in your ear right now?  I would encourage you to write down all the ways God has taken care of you and provided for you in the past.  It is a great exercise you can go back to over and over as your family goes through the recovery process.



Leave a Reply

